Skip to content

Supposed To Be

February 19, 2012

This past week, I was having a conversation with a good friend of mine. During this conversation, they said something to me that sparked a thought: they told me what I am supposed to be and what I’m supposed to like. Now, I’ve been blessed enough that most of the time, people don’t tell me who I am or what I should/should not like. There have been a few exceptions here an there, but for the most part, I can’t say I’ve given any real attention.

That made me think, how can anyone tell me what I’m supposed to be or what I should like/dislike? It’s my opinion and personal preference, shouldn’t I be the one in charge of that? Unfortunately, the world tries to tell you that you’re not. I just want to make one thing clear, you can’t let anyone–and I mean anyone–tell you who or what you should be as a person. You are an individual, a unique creation that is perfect just the way you are.

Whether or not you fit the criteria of what society says you should be or not doesn’t matter. Everyone is different and society is filled with generalizations and stereotypes that don’t always apply. The world is going to try to tell you who you are and what you should or shouldn’t be, but it’s your job as an individual to stand up and tell the world who you truly are.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2012 9:09 pm

    I so agree. Each one of us is unique and special in our own way!

Leave a Reply

