Skip to content

Body Art

January 22, 2012

I’m a big fan of body art. Tattoos, piercings; bodily adornment for the pure sake of artistic expression and creativity. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not referring to the people that cover themselves in tattoos from head to toe and pierce their bodies in so-called “strange” places, or alter their physical appearance to the extent that they don’t look human. While that’s an art form in itself, I’m  referring to the slight adjustments that are used to decorate oneself. The minor things that  decorate the body.

Fortunately, I’ve been blessed with a parent that is supportive of my appreciation for this art form and encourages it–in fact, the person in question (my mom) introduced me to it at a very young age. I remember being three or four years old seeing my mom come home with freshly bandaged tattoos or a piercing in a new place. Granted, she doesn’t have most of those piercings anymore, but the tattoos are still there (plus a few more) and the memories are still fresh in my mind.

I’m saying all of this because recently, as a late birthday gift, my mom let me get my ears pierced. It wasn’t my first time; it was actually the fourth. I first had my ears pierced when I was three, at my request. Then, when I was eleven, I asked my mom to let me get my ears pierced again; initially with the intention to get my cartilage pierced, but I wasn’t old enough. So, instead, I had my ear lobes pierced a second time. Then, for my twelfth birthday, I got the cartilage in my right ear pierced twice. Now, at seventeen, I sport a total of eight holes in my ears; five in my right ear and three in my left–and I’m not finished yet. I still plan to get a tragus piercing or two, should my ears grow large enough to accommodate the extra metal. That’s about it–as far as my ears go, that is. I still have more of my body left to decorate. 😉

Thankfully, I haven’t gotten much negative reception for the jewelry I sport. In fact, I’ve had people inquire about it–asking if it hurt, healing time, where I went, etc. More often than not, people that notice the holes in my ears are surprised that I have a parent that let me do it to begin with. I just like to say that I’m blessed in that manner.

In short, I love body art and I see myself as a human canvas, begging to be further decorated. And I am very glad that I have a mother who encourages such musings.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2012 9:52 am

    I look forward to seeing how businesses and the workplace change over the next 5 – 10 years, as many young people are getting tattoos and facial piercings, and eventually it’ll be them that are the managers or the owners of businesses. With what you said about negative responses – I really think that its a shame that most work places require you to cover any ink or remove facial piercings… Its narrow minded.

    I’m glad you’ve got such a supportive parent!

    • January 27, 2012 12:23 am

      I do too, actually. In the future when people of younger generations are running businesses, I’d imagine they would be more accepting of tattoos, piercings and such. Unless, of course, the majority of the managers grow to be just as intolerant as many businessowners are today–which I’d really hate to see happen. It’s definitely narrow-minded that people feel the need to stifle another’s self-expression due to the strange percetion that it’s unprofessional.

      Thanks for stopping by and reading, I’m glad for that too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

