Skip to content

Be Yourself

December 3, 2011

I am a firm believer that God created the human race to be diverse–not the same. It seems to be; however, that far too many people are changing themselves to be more like someone else. I don’t mean admiring someone and wanting to emulate that person, as imitation is considered the sincerest form of flattery. I’m talking about recreating yourself to be someone other than who you are at your core.

We all affect each other in some way or another, but that doesn’t mean that we can’t still have our own identities. For example, I don’t fit in with my peers. I’m quiet, I don’t drink alcohol, smoke or do drugs. I dress in a manner that can be viewed as androgynous and I wear my hair naturally. I know modern society would be more accepting of me if I were to change myself to be more like the majority of my peers but, I don’t want to change myself because of that. It’s alright for me to be different.

Truth be told, people treat me differently when they find out that I’m an ovo-lacto pescetarian, Jewish (by birth), don’t care for the opposite sex, and that I’m close to my family. That’s alright too. No matter where you go, someone is going to judge and/or criticize you because of who you truly are. You’ll find plenty of people that like you because you’re different, but on the other hand, you’ll also find people that dislike you because of who you are. It’s just a matter of taking the good with the bad and knowing that you are perfect just the way you are.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

