Skip to content

Emitting Energy

November 27, 2011

At the end of most days, I spend some time reflecting upon recent occurrences and events. Sometimes they’re the happenings of that day, or days before. As I ruminated over November 24 (Thanksgiving), I realized something: I’m thankful for solitude. I already knew that I liked peace and quiet, but today, I seemed to gain a deeper understanding of the concept. Being a teenager, I spend the holidays with my mom and brother. This year; however, someone else spent time with us as well. I won’t disclose the exact details of what happened that day, but I will say that the time span of about fourteen hours comprised some of the most stressful hours of my life.

During a conversation with my mom, she said something that inspired me to write this post. My mom asked me why this particular person that spent part of Thanksgiving in our home seemed to suck all the joy out of our home. At the time, neither one of us had an answer, then, the answer came to my mom. She said, “I suppose since everyone puts out some type of energy, that’d explain it.”

Think about it, have you ever been around someone and they make you feel either good or bad? It’s not that this person is necessarily doing anything hurtful to you but, when you’re around them, there’s a difference between how you felt before you saw them, and after. I’m not talking about the nagging person who picks apart your clothes, your hair, or your house; I’m talking about the difference in the energy. The aura that people radiate, if you will.

My mom’s statement made me think, since everyone emits some type of energy that affects us, then shouldn’t we all consider the energy we’re putting out? Shouldn’t we take into account how other people will feel when they’re around us? I could be wrong, but I believe that if we all were a little more considerate of the way we make other people feel, then some of us would be that much happier. I don’t know about you, but I’d much rather be the person that people feel good when they’re around, than the person that people rue spending time with.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2011 11:17 pm

    Yes, we should most certainly consider how our energy affects those we come into contact with. Your thoughts and feelings can be felt. I was reminded of that a few years ago when a woman who works in the produce department of my local grocery store invited me to her wedding because she said, ” you feel like a friend of mine.” I was shocked. ” Why”, I said with a smile. “That’s how you make me feel when you are shopping.”

Leave a Reply

