Skip to content

A Foodie’s Review

October 28, 2011

For most of my life I’ve been a bit of a foodie. When most kids in my neighborhood were eating bowls of multi-colored sugar-filled cereals for breakfast, I was eating bowls of organic, steel cut Irish oatmeal with fresh fruit and drinking a mug of chamomile tea. And I was six at the time. Yep, I can thank my mom for that. 🙂 Of course, I don’t eat ALL healthy food all the time–I have junk from time to time; maybe once a week, maybe less…a lot less.

Anyway, every since I moved out to Middle River, I’ve tried a lot of new restaurants and most of them have been rather disappointing. I’m from the outskirts of the city, Towson to be precise, and to all of you unfamiliar with the area, it’s culturally mixed. You could order any kind of food at any time of day, or any time of night. The people out there don’t sleep. Ever. It’s also noisy and crowded and most of the time it smells like grease, dirt and whatever foods are being cooked in the nearby restaurants. But to get back to my point, most of the food was good.

Up until this week, I hadn’t had any really great pizza from the restaurants out here. I’ve tried Middle River Pizzeria, the pizza was greasy, burned and just not good. After that, I tried Rosedale Pizza, the flavor was better, but the crust was tough and overcooked, like the chef cooked it too quickly. Next, I tried Pizza Hut, and this was probably the worst one: the crust was like a Matzo cracker, the sauce was practically absent, the vegetable toppings barely present. More or less, it was like munching on a stale cracker that had been over-baked with a light touch of sauce, cheese and canned-tasting, dry vegetables. Not good at all. Then, I tried Dominos, the pizza was better, but it wasn’t something I’d really do again. The flavor was nice, a bit too oily though. I have to give them credit for using fresh vegetables though. That was a pleasant surprise.

After the bad experiences, I pretty much gave up on the idea of having great pizza. Assuming that the people out here just don’t know how to make it in a manner that I like. Then, my mom brought another restaurant to my attention: Seasons Pizza. We’d eaten food from this restaurant multiple times before. The salads are crisp and fresh. The chocolate cake is so delicious, it’s enough to make you cry tears of joy.

So, this past week, we decided to order a white vegetable pizza from there. It was amazing! The crust was fluffy, the broccoli perfectly cooked, the diced tomatoes juicy and fresh (not canned and metallic tasting), the cheese was a generous blend of mozzarella and ricotta, there was caramelized garlic ever so lightly sprinkled over the top and baked to perfection. Simply put, it was freaking awesome.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2011 8:59 am

    I love pizza. Unfortunately, I have not yet found one that I really like over here. But that Seasons Pizza sounds great! I hope they open a branch in Jerusalem 🙂

    • October 30, 2011 10:13 pm

      I’m sure that you’ll find a pizza you really love and I hope you one day get to try Seasons Pizza–their food is amazing! 😀

Leave a Reply

