Skip to content

Mixed Thoughts

September 18, 2011

During the summer of 2010, my mom moved my brother and I out of Baltimore, Maryland into Middle River, Maryland to escape the increasing crime. I’m relatively used to the area now, but there are still a few things that I miss about my old neighborhood. Although, I suppose that’s to be expected, since I spent the first 15 years of my life there.

Out here, it is cleaner, quieter and the air smells of salt water because of a nearby beach. There are more foreign people, not that I mind, and there is more racism (surprisingly enough considering it’s so diverse). I’ve been called degrading names in regard to what my race is assumed to be, cursed at, and more things than I can possibly disclose right now.

One of the major changes I’ve noticed is the arrogance that seemingly entitles people to treat others badly and not be held accountable for it. There have been numerous occasions on which I ordered a meal  from a local restaurant, received an incorrect order, then when I called to inform a manager, I was ignored or otherwise.

Take today as an exemplar, my mom bought two meals from a nearby pizzeria and when we unpacked the food, we noticed that what we were given was incorrect. I called the restaurant to tell someone about what had transpired, and instead of apologizing and correcting the error, the manager asked the employee if she had done what I said and when she denied it, blamed me for the incorrect order.

I’m generally not someone who will accentuate the negative and minimize the positive. In fact, I’m more of an optimistic person who will try to find the bright side of any situation. However, the constant mistreatment is emotionally harrowing. As I understand it, the negativity that we experience is prevalent throughout the tri-state area; however, I am somewhat uncertain if that’s the sole reasoning for the things that keep happening. My hypothesis supporting this is that, whenever an error was made in a restaurant or other establishment, an apology was issued, and the faux pas was immediately corrected.

To better clarify my point, I recall one special family occasion during which I ordered three pizzas and the company mistakenly put the wrong toppings on all of them. When my father arrived to pick up the pizzas, they told him of the error, apologized promptly and prepared three more pizzas with the correct toppings, giving him the other three for free. See my point?

There are plenty of things that I love about my new area, but the negativity, mistreatment, racism and the like are somehow outweighing them. Perhaps we should consider moving in the near future.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2011 7:55 pm

    I don’t like people like that either. Some people need to get over themselves.

  2. SaraPey permalink
    September 22, 2011 5:19 pm

    I’m not really a big “change” person, I don’t take it that well (don’t know why, maybe an childhood trauma!) but I do appreciate when the change is for the best. After all, we need to do what makes us smile, because happiness can’t be bought 🙂

    • September 27, 2011 10:27 am

      I’m not really one for change either, unless it’s positive, that is. 🙂

Leave a Reply

