Skip to content

Recent Events

August 25, 2011

    Storms are interesting things. Many people fear them while some relish in their very presence. Before they begin, there is a certain silence; an eerie-ness that can be felt down to one’s very soul. Like the universe setting the stage for a show. Animals can sense its approach.  Insects scurry about, seeking out the nearest shelter. It’s apparent in nature; the trees seem to sway in a different way than they typically do, as though they are trying to warn humanity of its eminence.

    I’m saying this because there have been a large number of storms in my area recently. For the past week, there have been about five thunderstorms, one earthquake and several occasions in which lightning has touched down near my home. During one recent storm, lightning struck my house, setting off the smoke alarm, tripping the circuit breaker and filling the house with a blue light.

    Many people seem to believe this is a sign of the world ending, I’m personally uncertain. The Bible does cite natural disasters occurring before Christ’s return; however, I must admit I am somewhat torn between hopes. Part of me hopes the Rapture happens soon, yet another part of me hopes that I get to finish college and accomplish the other goals on my personal list first (indeed, I am strange that way).

    Even now, as I sit in the dining room of the sizable home where I currently reside, listening to yet another storm brewing outside the window, lightning slashing by the window,  I can’t help but wonder, is this really the end of the world? 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2011 1:34 am

    I feel very much the same way as you do! There is a much better place waiting… but there is still SO much life to live!
    I will keep you in my prayers tonight. May God bless you and keep you safe from harm.

    • August 26, 2011 12:41 pm

      Very true, thank you very much for the prayers and blessings! I wish the same for your future! 😀

Leave a Reply

