Skip to content

Sci-Fi Nut With Hidden Agenda

March 24, 2012

For as far back as I can remember, I’ve loved science fiction. When I was a kid, I used to sit and watch the Sci-Fi Channel on television for hours at a time and sometimes all day long. Star Wars, Star Trek, The X Files, Xena: Warrior Princess, Scare Tactics, Alphas, Ghost Hunters, Fact or Faked, Battlestar Galactica and plenty of other shows that I can’t recall the titles of anymore. Presently, I don’t watch anywhere near as much television as I used to, but I must admit I still love science fiction just as much. I read science fiction novels and spend about three hours a week watching it (generally over the course of three to four days).

Since January of last year, I’ve been watching an American remake of a British science fiction series called Being Human. I tried watching the original version, but I find it less interesting. Not to say that I don’t enjoy British television (I watched a great deal of that in my youth as well); however, I find the American remake less redundant in terms of camera angle usage (I have an older brother who is cinema savvy and I now lack the ability to watch a poorly directed film anymore).

There has been something of a running gag about me, saying that the only reason why I watch Being Human is because Canadian actress Meaghan Rath plays a major role in the show. Of course it’s well-known that I’m too much of a science fiction addict to let an attractive actress be the sole driving force of my viewership; however, I won’t say that doesn’t add to it. ;)

With a face as adorable as this one, can you blame me?

Truth be told, I watch the show for the special effects, engrossing plotline, Montreal scenery and impressive cinematography. Even if the actors and actresses looked like undead zombified trolls after they’ve been dragged through seven miles of broken glass, I would still watch the show. Why? Because I like it. The show is awesome and I hope the ratings stay as positive as they are now to keep it on the air.

P.S. I must apologize to you dear reader(s) for this change in my posts. Generally, I post meaningful things; but considering the clock has ticked past midnight and the only thing I can hear is the abrading sound of my neighbor’s snoring, my somewhat sleep deprived self had to let you into the strange recesses of my teenaged mind. My next post will be more relevant to life. I promise. I can also promise that I’ll think back on this very soon and say to myself, “What the heck was I thinking? Why on Earth did I post that?”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2012 7:00 pm

    Well a good sifi series is someyhing beautiful … sometimes still mss Dollhouse and Firefly, even if I may stand alone

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

